13 pages tagged "academic etiquette"

What is that conference networking thing all about?
Anne-Wil Harzing - updated Wed 1 Nov 2017 10:14
Reflections on the importance of networking in academia and tips on how to do it

Please be polite and considerate
Anne-Wil Harzing - updated Thu 19 Oct 2017 21:08
About the importance of appreciating academic volunteers

Would you ask a male academic the same question?
Anne-Wil Harzing - updated Mon 25 Sep 2017 15:31
Discusses the expectations of service-oriented behaviour by female academics

Don't write mass emails (2): asking for help
Anne-Wil Harzing - updated Thu 27 Jul 2017 11:07
Shows some typical student emails asking for help out of the blue

How to address other academics by email?
Anne-Wil Harzing - updated Wed 31 May 2017 08:27
Provides suggestions on the best way to address academics by email

Please don't respond to the entire mailing list
Anne-Wil Harzing - updated Tue 25 Apr 2017 15:20
About the irritating email behaviour of sending a personal response to hundreds of addressees

Don't write mass emails (1): distributing your work
Anne-Wil Harzing - updated Thu 6 Apr 2017 14:13
Explains ineffective and effective ways to promote your published work

Last impressions count too! The importance of conclusions
Anne-Wil Harzing - updated Sun 26 Mar 2017 20:56
Warns against ending your academic article with your study's limitations

Submit to only one journal at a time
Anne-Wil Harzing - updated Sun 22 Jan 2017 14:33
About good practices in journal submission

Thank You: The most underused words in academia?
Anne-Wil Harzing - updated Thu 17 Aug 2017 17:40
About the importance of courtesy in email communications

Harzing.com blog 1 year old!
Anne-Wil Harzing - updated Wed 15 Nov 2017 15:26
Celebrating my blog's first anniversary with the top-10 most read blogs

CYGNA: Building your academic brand through social media
Anne-Wil Harzing - updated Fri 7 Jul 2017 17:41
Introduces CYGNA and two presentations about social media in academia

Welcome to my blog!
Anne-Wil Harzing - updated Sun 27 Aug 2017 17:27
Introduction to Anne-Wil's blog