49 blog postings January 2020 - December 2020

(*Starred titles refer to featured blog posts)

How to create a sustainable academic career
Anne-Wil Harzing - published Sat 21 Nov 2020 14:35
Reports on Martyna Sliwa's presentatioin on career progression in the UK higher education environment

CYGNA: How do I keep my job (in academia) in uncertain times?
Anne-Wil Harzing - published Fri 13 Nov 2020 10:30
Reports on our 34rd CYGNA meeting

How to improve your research impact: YouTube series
Anne-Wil Harzing - published Fri 6 Nov 2020 10:00
Collates eighteen mini-videos on how to improve your research impact, based on a presentation at Middlesex University

CYGNA: Female leadership in Higher Education
Anne-Wil Harzing - published Thu 29 Oct 2020 16:25
Reports on our 33rd CYGNA meeting - our first in a full academic year of online meetings

The double-edged sword of ethnic similarity for expatriates
Anne-Wil Harzing - published Tue 27 Oct 2020 09:57
Introducing Shea Fan's work on the double-edged sword of ethnic similarity

Join us at Middlesex - recruiting 4 new colleagues!
Anne-Wil Harzing - published Fri 23 Oct 2020 07:08
Announces a major recruitment round for the Department of Managment, Leadership and Organization at Middlesex University

Why do I need to write a letter to the editor? [8/8]
Anne-Wil Harzing - published Fri 16 Oct 2020 11:10
The last step in the submission process is an important means to "sell" your paper to the journal

How to measure research impact: YouTube series
Anne-Wil Harzing - published Fri 9 Oct 2020 17:13
Collates twelve mini-videos on measuring research impact based on an interview with Vas Taras

What do you cite? Using references strategically [7/8]
Anne-Wil Harzing - published Sat 3 Oct 2020 11:03
Shows you how references can save you hundreds of words and position your paper

Looking for multilingual PoP support resources?
Anne-Wil Harzing - published Fri 25 Sep 2020 08:14
Provides a list of videos on using Publish or Perish in a variety of languages

Conclusions: last impressions count too! [6/8]
Anne-Wil Harzing - published Fri 18 Sep 2020 07:40
Last but not least: conclusions are a crucial part of your paper's key message

Your introduction: first impressions count! [5/8]
Anne-Wil Harzing - published Fri 11 Sep 2020 10:14
What are the elements of an effective introduction: context, importance and interest

Middlesex University 2020 virtual writing boot-camp
Anne-Wil Harzing - published Fri 4 Sep 2020 07:29
Reports on the Summer 2020 virtual writing boot-camp and links to the slides used

AoM 2020 online - my second virtual conference
Anne-Wil Harzing - published Fri 14 Aug 2020 13:54
Brief report on the AoM virtual conference in August 2020

2nd CYGNA Global Virtual Meeting: MBTI & Stress
Anne-Wil Harzing - published Thu 16 Jul 2020 07:04
Reports on our 32nd CYGNA meeting - our second virtual meeting discussing stress trigger factors for different MBTI types

AIB 2020 Online - my first virtual conference
Anne-Wil Harzing - published Sat 11 Jul 2020 07:46
Brief report on the AIB virtual conference in July 2020

67th edition of the Journal Quality List on-line
Anne-Wil Harzing - published Sat 4 Jul 2020 11:48
New version of the Journal Quality List with updates for the Danish list, HCRES and CNRS

Writing your abstract: not a last-minute activity [4/8]
Anne-Wil Harzing - published Sun 28 Jun 2020 10:00
Explains what needs to be included in an effective abstract

LIS-Bibliometrics 10th anniversary event: The Future of Research Evaluation
Anne-Wil Harzing - published Sun 21 Jun 2020 15:11
Listing of all video recordings at the LIS-Bibliometrics 10th year anniversary conference

Your title: the public face of your paper [3/8]
Anne-Wil Harzing - published Sun 14 Jun 2020 07:05
Illustrates how to create a good title through an iterative process

1st CYGNA Global Virtual Meeting: Coping with a Pandemic
Anne-Wil Harzing - published Sat 6 Jun 2020 07:01
Reports on our 31st CYGNA meeting - our first virtual meeting dealing with work-life balance during a pandemic

How many references is enough?
Anne-Wil Harzing - published Sat 30 May 2020 10:40
Some reflections on why more references isn't always better, but how strategic referencing might help

Who do you want to talk to? Targeting journals [2/8]
Anne-Wil Harzing - published Sun 24 May 2020 09:35
Explains why chosing your target journal is the most important step in the publication process

EIBA panel: New Avenues for IB Research in the Digital Era
Dorota Piaskowska - published Sun 17 May 2020 12:46
Report on a panel on IB & Technology on the EIBA conference at Leeds University in December 2019

How to avoid a desk-reject in seven steps [1/8]
Anne-Wil Harzing - published Sun 10 May 2020 08:42
Introduces a 7-step process to increase your chances of getting your paper into the review process

Saturday night fever during a pandemic
Michela Vecchi - published Sun 3 May 2020 10:25
Discusses research on the positive effects of dance on physical health, cognition and well-being

Social Media in Academia (8): Putting it all together
Anne-Wil Harzing - published Mon 27 Apr 2020 08:01
Final posting in the social media series explains how different social media can reinforce each other

The four ailments of academic writing and how to cure them
Nico Pizzolato - published Mon 20 Apr 2020 07:36
Some golden tips on how to improve your academic writing

Social media in Academia (7): Blogging
Anne-Wil Harzing - published Mon 13 Apr 2020 07:52
Provides recommendations on how to start with blogging

Experimental research and Nvivo
Anne-Wil Harzing - published Tue 7 Apr 2020 06:53
Reports on Luisa Pinto's Erasmus visit to Middlesex University with seminars on experimental research and Nvivo

How social & behavioural science can support COVID-19 pandemic response
Valerio Capraro - published Wed 1 Apr 2020 13:12
Introduces a very timely paper on the role of social and behavioural research in the current crisis

Social Media in Academia (6): Twitter
Anne-Wil Harzing - published Fri 27 Mar 2020 08:33
Provides recommendations on how to get the best out of Twitter

Harzing.com blog 4 years old!
Anne-Wil Harzing - published Sun 22 Mar 2020 08:38
Celebrating my blog's fourth anniversary with the top-15 most read blogs

Join us at Middlesex - Recruiting 11 new colleagues!
Anne-Wil Harzing - published Thu 19 Mar 2020 07:08
Announces a major recruitment round for the Department of Managment, Leadership and Organization at Middlesex University

Introducing online teaching as a response to COVID-19: Lessons from our experience
Katsuhiko Yoshikawa - published Fri 13 Mar 2020 07:12
A very useful personal reflection on experiences with online lecturing

Social media in Academia (5): ResearchGate
Anne-Wil Harzing - published Mon 9 Mar 2020 07:30
Provides recommendations on how to get the most out of ResearchGate

The golden triangle: standardization, localization or dominance?
Anne-Wil Harzing - published Mon 2 Mar 2020 15:46
Illustrates the convergence to a world-wide best practice model for human resources

Social Media in Academia (4): LinkedIn
Anne-Wil Harzing - published Thu 27 Feb 2020 18:27
Provides recommendations on how to get the best out of LinkedIn

66th edition of the Journal Quality List on-line
Anne-Wil Harzing - published Fri 21 Feb 2020 10:18
New version of the Journal Quality List with 2019 ABDC update

CYGNA: Negotiation workshop
Anne-Wil Harzing - published Sat 15 Feb 2020 12:30
Reports on our 30th CYGNA meeting dealing with negotations styles

Social Media in Academia (3): Google Scholar Profiles
Anne-Wil Harzing - published Mon 10 Feb 2020 09:06
Provides recommendations on how to get the best out of Google Scholar Profiles

Testing key IB typologies: Bartlett & Ghoshal and Gupta & Govindarajan
Anne-Wil Harzing - published Fri 7 Feb 2020 09:10
Introduces my research on testing two of the most well-known typologies in International Business

You can’t be known if you don’t interact!
Anne-Wil Harzing - published Mon 3 Feb 2020 07:27
Seminar by Axele Giroud at Middlesex on networking and external engagement for academic success

Social Media in Academia (2): Comparing the options
Anne-Wil Harzing - published Tue 28 Jan 2020 09:01
General recommendations on how to use social media professionally

Country of origin matters for multinationals too
Anne-Wil Harzing - published Thu 23 Jan 2020 07:37
Reviews my research on country-of-origin effects on MNCs over the last 15 years

Social Media in Academia (1): Introduction
Anne-Wil Harzing - published Thu 16 Jan 2020 10:07
An introduction into my 8-part blogpost series on social media

New: Publish or Perish now also exports abstracts
Anne-Wil Harzing - published Sun 12 Jan 2020 16:06
Introduces a new Publish or Perish feature: exporting of publication abstracts

Be proactive, resilient & realistic!
Anne-Wil Harzing - published Tue 7 Jan 2020 15:14
Argues that as an academic you are an independent professional shaping your own career

Work and Family Life of Academics
Bianca Stumbitz - published Thu 2 Jan 2020 08:25
Reports on a seminar organized by Middlesex's Gender & Diversity cluster